Skip to main content

Root Causes & Response Committee

The purposes of the Committee include, but are not limited to the following: to identify and address root causes of hate-based crimes and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination; to study the role that individual bias (implicit and explicit), collective bias (hate groups), and discrimination play in contributing to the incidence of same; to identify the continuum of behavior that precedes incidents of the same; and to recommend to the Commission statutory, regulatory or programmatic changes necessary to identify and eliminate hate-based crimes and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination. The Committee may review training programs used by State law enforcement agencies, State agencies, schools, and community actors to eliminate hate-based crime and incidents (including extremism) and discrimination and shall report its findings and recommends to the Commission.

Committee membership includes Chair Seth Limmer, Cochair Hilda Bahena, Commissioner David Goldneberg, Commissioner Jason Rosenweig, Commissioner Cindy Buys, Commissioner Amy Meek, Commissioner Brendan Kelly, and Commissioner LaDon Reynolds.

Committee Meetings

This committee provides public notice about the public meetings that it will hold on the first Wednesday of each month (beginning October 6, 2021) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Remote and virtual access via WebEx will be made available for public attendance.

No upcoming events